Traffic Tickets

What do I do Now?

A traffic payment is due in the Clerk's office by the compliance date (within 30 calendar days of issuance date on the citation). Payments received, regardless of postmark, or made after the compliance date will incur an additional late fee and possible suspension of your driver's license.

A Civil Traffic Citation is a noncriminal traffic violation that is not punishable by incarceration and for which there is no right to a trial by jury or a right to court-appointed counsel. Most civil traffic infractions do not require a court appearance, but can be disposed by paying a civil penalty, requesting an infraction hearing, or electing to attend a driver improvement course. The Clerk of the Court collects all traffic fines and distributes the proceeds according to law. The total amount of a traffic fine consists of amounts required to be paid by Florida Law as well as by County and City ordinances.

OPTIONS
Upon receipt of a civil traffic citation for any non-criminal violation, you have 30 days from the date of issuance of the ticket to exercise any one of the following three options:

Option 1- Pay the Ticket Online or at a Retail location

A traffic payment is due in the Clerk's office by the compliance date (within 30 days of receipt of the citation).

Payments may be made in person, by phone, by mail, online, or at trusted retail store locations. The Clerk's office accepts cash, money orders, cashier's checks, traveler's checks, Mastercard, Visa, Discover, and American Express.

How to Pay with Cash at a Retail Location  cashlocations

You can pay your court-related fee with cash at CVS Pharmacy®, 7-Eleven®, Family Dollar®, ACE Cash Express and Casey's General Stores. When selecting the cash payment option, you onty need to follow three easy steps after you print a PaySlip payment code from our online payment site. Cash payments must be made by the deadline date shown on the the Payslip.

Click HERE for more information about how to pay with cash at participating retail locations.

Option 2 - Pay the Ticket and Elect to Attend a Driver Improvement Course    pdf Print Driver Improvement Affidavit Form (12 KB)
This Driver Improvement Course option may not be available to you if:

  • Your traffic violation requires a mandatory court appearance
  • You possess a valid Class A, B or C commercial driver’s license (CDL)
  • You have elected to attend a Florida approved basic driver improvement course within the last 12 calendar months or more than a total of 5 times in a lifetime
  • You are not eligible for Driving School Election as determined by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Online Driver License Check

To choose this option, you first must pay the required amount for your violation, to include an additional $7.00 affidavit fee, to the Court within 30 days of the offense date. You will then be given 90 days to successfully complete a Florida approved basic driver improvement course and provide the completion certificate to the Clerk of Court. You may mail or hand deliver the completion certificate to the Clerk's office. The 90 days begins on the date payment was made and the affidavit is executed.  See the yellow pages under "Traffic School" or "Driving Instruction" for Florida approved schools or visit the Florida Dept. of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Failure to comply with the requirements of the Driver Improvement Course election option once you have chosen this option will result in a report for suspension of your driver’s license to the Department of Motor Vehicles; additional court costs, fines and late charges.

Option 3 - Contest the Ticket In Court   pdf Print Court Election on Traffic Citation Form (222 KB)
If you choose to enter a Not Guilty plea and contest the traffic citation in court, you must notify the Clerk in writing within 30 days of the date the citation was issued to request a traffic infraction hearing using the  pdf Court Election on Traffic Form (222 KB) . You may deliver this completed form to the Clerk's office in person or by mail within 30 days of the compliance date. When you choose this option, you plead not guilty and you waive your right to pay the fine or elect to attend a driver improvement course.

After receipt of this completed form by the Clerk, you will receive a notice from the clerk advising you of the date and time of your hearing. If you reside outside of Okaloosa County, you may attend in person at your own expense or be heard at the hearing by way of an Affidavit of Defense. Subpoenas will be issued for the law enforcement officer as well as any witnesses listed by the officer. You are responsible for making sure any witnesses you want to testify appear at the hearing.

The court may impose a fine up to $500 (in cases of speed in a school zone, work zone or a death, fine may be $1,000) or require you to attend Driver Improvement Course, or both.

Contact Information

Crestview

Clerk of the Circuit Court
Customer Service
Clerk of Court Operations Center
601-B N. Pearl St.
Crestview, FL 32536
(850) 689-5000, ext. 4450

Ft. Walton Beach

Clerk of the Circuit Court
Customer Service
Okaloosa County Courthouse Annex Extension
1940 Lewis Turner Blvd, Suite 1-300
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547
(850) 651-7200, ext. 4450

Frequently Asked Questions

How long do I have to pay my traffic citation?
Civil Infractions citations are due to be paid within 30 calendar days from the date of issuance.

What happens if my traffic citation is not paid timely?
An indefinite suspension will be placed against the driver’s license until all fines, late fees, and reinstatement fees are paid.  Additionally, unpaid citations may incur collection fees.

What are my options if I am issued a traffic citation?
Upon receipt of a civil traffic citation for any non-criminal violation, you have 30 days from the date of issuance of the ticket to exercise any one of the following three options:

  1. Pay the Ticket.
  2. Attend a Driver Improvement Course.
  3. Contest the Ticket In Court.

How can I obtain my driver's license history?
The Clerk's office can provide you with an official printed copy of your 3-year driver's record for a small fee.

What forms of payment do you accept?
Generally, the Clerk's Office accepts cash, money order, cashier’s check, MasterCard, Visa, Discover, and American Express for the payment of filing fees, fines and costs.

Where can I pay my court fines, fees, and other costs?
You may pay your court fines, fees, and other costs using any of the four methods below. However, some traffic violations require that you show proof of insurance, driver’s license, or other required items before the traffic citation can be considered closed. Failure to do so may result in the suspension of the defendant's driver’s license.

  • Pay in person at our Customer Service department located at 601-B North Pearl St. in Crestview, FL or 1940 Lewis Turner Blvd in Fort Walton Beach, FL.  
  • Pay by phone via nCourt - 1(855)893-7926 using a MasterCard, Visa, Discover, or American Express card.
  • Send a cashier’s check or money order by mail to the Clerk's office, payable to "Clerk of Court".
  • Pay online via nCourt Pay Online
  • Pay with Cash via nCourt Pay with Cash

When is my next court date?
For Criminal Traffic cases, call (850)689-5000, ext.4450 or (850)651-7200, ext.4450 from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM Monday through Friday.

How do I elect to attend a driver improvement course for my citation?
This election is for moving traffic citations not requiring a mandatory court appearance (i.e. speeding in excess of 30 MPH). You may not elect to attend driver improvement school for any violation if you hold a commercial driver’s license.

  • You may elect this option no more than once every 12 months and no more than 5 times in a lifetime.
  • You may appear in person at the Customer Service Division to make this election.
  • If you choose to make this election by mail, you must complete and submit the Driver's School Election Form along with the payment for court cost within 30 days from the date of your citation.
  • You may also contact the Customer Service Division at 850-651-7200, ext. 4450 for the amount of court cost due.
  • You will be given 90 days to complete a Florida approved basic driver improvement course and provide the completion certificate to the Customer Service Division. Your 90 days begins the day you make the election to attend the driver improvement school. You may hand deliver the completion certificate to our office or mail it to Clerk of the Circuit Court, Attn: Customer Service Division, 1940 Lewis Turner Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, Florida 32547.
  • You may receive mail from private driver improvement schools or you may contact local schools listed in the phone directory under “Traffic School” or “Driving Instruction”. Additional information may also be found on the website for Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

What are the benefits of attending driver improvement school?
One, no points will be assessed against your Florida driver’s license, and two, attending driver improvement school to satisfy the violation will be entered on your driver history record as an “adjudication withheld”.

What happens if I do not attend the driver improvement school I elected?
If you fail to meet the driver school election requirements, you will be adjudicated guilty of the offense and points will be assessed against your license. Failure to comply will result in a notice for a suspension of your driver’s license to the Department of Motor Vehicles including assessment of additional court costs, fines, and service charges.

What happens if my ticket is not paid timely?
An indefinite suspension will be placed against your driver’s license until all fines, late fees, and reinstatement fees are paid. If your ticket remains unpaid 30-days from the date of your driver’s license suspension, your account is turned over to a collection agency.

What is a D-6 clearance?
A D-6 is a clearance form showing that you have met all court requirements and/or have paid all outstanding traffic citations. You must provide this form to DHSMV in order to have your driver’s license reinstated. The Okaloosa County Clerk's Customer Service Division can reinstate your driver’s license for a fee of $60.00 if you are eligible to be reinstated.